Search Apache POI

Apache POI - Who We Are

Apache POI - Who we are

The Apache POI Project operates on a meritocracy: the more you do, the more responsibility you will obtain. This page lists all of the people who have gone the extra mile and are Committers. If you would like to get involved, the first step is to join the mailing lists.

We ask that you please do not send us emails privately asking for support. We are non-paid volunteers who help out with the project and we do not necessarily have the time or energy to help people on an individual basis. The mailing lists have many individuals who will help answer detailed requests for help. The benefit of using mailing lists over private communication is that they are a shared resource where others can also learn from common questions.

POI Developers count on feedback from the mailing lists. Many developers do take an active role on the lists.

Project Chair

  • Dominik Stadler (centic at apache dot org)


  • Andreas Beeker (kiwiwings at apache dot org)
  • Nick Burch (nick at apache dot org)
  • Amol S Deshmukh (amol at apache dot org)
  • David Fisher (wave at apache dot org)
  • Jason Height (jheight at apache dot org)
  • Marc Johnson (mjohnson at apache dot org)
  • Rainer Klute (klute at apache dot org)
  • Yegor Kozlov (yegor at apache dot org)
  • Shawn Laubach (slaubach at apache dot org)
  • Josh Micich (josh at apache dot org)
  • Danny Mui (dmui at apache dot org)
  • David North (dnorth at apache dot org)
  • Javen O'Neal (onealj at apache dot org)
  • Uwe Schindler (uschindler at apache dot org)
  • Avik Sengupta (avik at apache dot org)
  • Dominik Stadler (centic at apache dot org)
  • Glen Stampoultzis (glens at
  • Jon Svede (jsvede at apache dot org)
  • Maxim Valyanskiy (maxcom at apache dot org)
  • Sergey Vladimirov (sergey at apache dot org)


  • (Please add your name here!!)

Emeritus Committers

  • Andrew C. Oliver (acoliver at gmail dot com)
  • Nicola Ken Barozzi (barozzi at nicolaken dot com)
  • Ryan Ackley (sackley at apache dot org)
  • Tetsuya Kitahata (ai at spa dot nifty dot com)

I want some progress on a bug report!

So you took the time to report a bug, provided information that should make it possible to reproduce the problem and fix it. Surely the fix is easy and should take a seasoned developer a few minutes at max to fix! So why is there no progress on your bug report? Is there nobody taking care when your problem is clearly stopping nearly everybody from using POI? We know that the absence of responses on bug-reports can be frustrating, sometimes bugs lie dormant for a long time for no apparent reason. Please always remember: nobody is paid to work on POI, the team is a bunch of volunteers who look at things in their free time. Because of that developers might choose to work on things based on a different priority than yours! Especially the quality and maturity of bug reports will affect if somebody decides to look at it. So the best way to help a bug report see progress is to provide more information if available or supply patches together with unit-tests. If you can, look at Contribution Guidelines for more information about providing patches.

by Apache POI Developers